consignment store

A consignment store in Omaha.

I’ve already started to embark on outfitting my children via thrift and consignment shops for the spring and summer season. If you live in an area large enough to have good second-hand stores, you will truly never need to purchase new clothes for infants or tots unless you desire. All that is required is extra time and patience, especially if your little ones are in tow. I brought my nine-month-old child along with me but still managed to find quality name brand clothes for him and his brother. I also sold a high-chair seat to the store for $3.50. In all, I purchased five T-shirts and three pairs of shorts for just over $20. I even managed to find Koala Kid matching bottoms for the boys–a good brand found at Baby’s R Us. Other brands I landed where Gap, Puma and OP. Now it’s time for the real challenge–finding clothes for Julia, a 12-year-old with fashionista taste.

Along with shopping thrift, we are aiming to have enough clothes but not a goggol of choices. We’d like to use all that we purchase this spring and summer season. The childrens’ summer wardrobes will be adequately stocked when I have these items:

Finnclothes

Finn’s summer clothes. T-shirts are solid colors from the Gap.

1. 5 pairs of shorts in dark or neutral colors.

2. 10-12 shirts (about 8 T-shirts; 2 polos or button downs)

3. 2-3 pairs of shoes (we’ll buy these new). Flip flops, sneakers and optional dress shoe.

4. A pair of lightweight slacks if needed for more formal events.

5. Swimming suits.

I’m well on my way!